Close Panel

About Investigative DivisionPolice Department SBPD

The Investigative Division is often called the Detective Bureau. While officers of the Patrol Division most often are the first officers on the scene of any police event, the Investigative Division handles the following-up investigations to those cases. It is the Detective's responsibility to follow leads and evidence in an effort to arrest outstanding suspects.

Investigative Division Structure

The Investigative Division is commanded by a Captain. There are four teams in the Investigative Division. They are Crimes Against Persons, Crimes Against Property, Youth Services Section and Narcotics. There are four Sergeants who are responsible for those criminal investigative teams. There are 18 Detectives, two Officers, a Forensic Science Lab Technician and an hourly Office Specialist assigned to the Division.

Specialized Detective units are:

Santa Barbara Police Department Detectives
Last Updated: Oct 14, 2021
Top of Page