Close Panel

Boards & Commissions D-M

  • De La Guerra Plaza Revitalization Design Advisory Committee
    On February 5, 2019, City Council established a De La Guerra Plaza Revitalization Advisory Committee comprised of representatives from Council, the Parks and Recreation Commission, the Planning Commission, and the Historic Landmarks Commission, the Santa Barbara Trust for Historic Preservation and the Santa Barbara Certified Farmers Market. The purpose of the Subcommittee is to support the development of conceptual plans for the De La Guerra Plaza Revitalization Project. The committee will meet up to four times during the development of conceptual plans for the Revitalization Project.
  • Downtown Parking Committee
    The Downtown Parking Committee was established August 30, 1988, and replaced the Parking District Committee.
  • Farmers Market Subcommittee
    On October 15, 2019, City Council established the New Saturday Farmers Market Subcommittee. The Subcommittee is comprised of three representatives from the City Council.
  • Fire & Police Commission
    In 1874, the Pioneer Fire Company No. 1 was organized. Crime was infrequent in Santa Barbara in the 1800's and major felonies were so rare that it was not considered necessary to form a police force until 1900.
  • Golf Advisory Committee
    The Golf Advisory Committee was established in June 1978 to provide guidance and operational assistance to the Parks and Recreation Department and Parks and Recreation Commission in the provision of golf course matters.
  • Harbor Commission
    In 1926, Major Max C. Fleischmann, an ardent yachtsman and philanthropist, offered $200,000 (approximately one half the cost) toward the construction of a harbor project on the condition that the City contribute the balance.
  • Historic Landmarks Commission
    In 1959 the California State Legislature passed a bill enabling local communities to provide for historic districts and landmarks and, in September of that year, El Pueblo Viejo historic district was born.
  • Housing Authority Commission
    In November 1968, City Council sponsored a measure entitled Proposition C, which the voters approved, asking for authority to develop low income housing units.
  • Housing Task Force
    The Housing Task Force was established on December 13, 2016 to consider potential amendments to the Average Unit-Size Density Incentive Program and bring recommendations to Council.
  • Independent Redistricting Commission
    On March 30, 2021, the City Council appointed the City’s Independent Redistricting Commission (IRC). The IRC is charged with drawing electoral redistricting maps using 2020 Census Bureau data. The electoral maps are used to assure the City’s six electoral council districts comply with state and federal law.
  • Integrated Pest Management Advisory Committee
    The City Council adopted an Integrated Pest Management (IPM) policy on June 17, 2003. The purpose of the IPM policy is to reduce or eliminate pesticide use on City property and to serve as an example to private property owners.
  • Library Advisory Committee - County of Santa Barbara
    The Board of Supervisors of the County of Santa Barbara has created a Library Advisory Committee. Each contracting city including Santa Barbara, shall nominate one member for appointment by the Board of Supervisors. This page is for information only, and it contains the link to the County site.
  • Library Board
    Miss Sara Plummer established the City's first library on State Street in 1870. After Miss Plummer married, the library was sold to the Odd Fellows who moved it to their lodge at State and Haley Streets.
  • Living Wage Advisory Committee
    The Living Wage Advisory Committee was established on April 25, 2006, by Resolution No. 06-031. Its purpose is to advise the City Council regarding the City’s implementation of the Living Wage Ordinance.
  • Measure P Committee
    Measure P was passed by the voters of the City of Santa Barbara at the Special Municipal Election held on November 7, 2006. Measure P relates to the City of Santa Barbara mandating that the Santa Barbara Police give State and Federal marijuana laws the lowest law enforcement priority possible. It also mandated the establishment of a community Oversight Committee.
  • Metropolitan Transit District Board
    The Santa Barbara Metropolitan Transit District (MTD) provides fixed-route transit service within the cities of Santa Barbara, Goleta, Montecito and Carpinteria along 23 routes. The main terminal (Transit Center at 1020 Chapala Street) and maintenance facility is located in Santa Barbara; an auxiliary dispatching and maintenance terminal in Goleta has been in use since early 1978.
  • Mosquito & Vector Management District
    The Mosquito and Vector Management District Board of Santa Barbara County (formerly the Santa Barbara Coastal Vector Control District) annexed the City of Santa Barbara into their district on June 11, 2004. The Mosquito and Vector Management District is a local governmental agency providing multifaceted health and safety protection to many residents of Santa Barbara County.
Last Updated: Dec 4, 2014
Top of Page