Has Something Changed?
If you have moved, changed the name of your business, changed partners, added on or decreased your working space, incorporated…anything…you will need to advise us.
Some changes, like name or owner interest, may not significantly affect your business license, however, location or complete ownership does.
Please contact Finance staff at (805) 564-5346.
· Business license contact information
Be sure to include your contact information, should there be any questions for our staff to clarify your information. When possible, include official documentation as back up.
· Only the owner(s) or offices can request changes to the business or request a reprint of a business license certificate.
· Any changes will need to be sent in writing or requested in person, government identification will be requested.
· When requesting changes, please include old information, and how you which to apply the new information. (i.e. Mailing address only change)
· If you have received new Federal or State Tax identification numbers, be sure to include the new ownership name, officers and its DBA’s.
· If you have purchased or inherited a business you will need to fill out a new business license tax application.
· No longer in business? To close a business, or whether you have sold it, be sure to notify our office in writing. Include the date business ceased under your control. Please include escrow date of sale and buyer information.
· If you wish to remove a partner, please have them sign a release document. Include a photo-copy of their driver's licenses.
· If you did not receive a Renewal Notice- contact our Finance staff immediately so one may be generated for you.
Effective January 1, 2013 State Mandated SB1186 Disability Access Fee
NEW STATE DISABILITY ACCESS FEE
SB 1186 requires cities to impose a new $1.00 state fee on all business licenses issued. The fees will be used to increase disability access and compliance with construction-related accessibility requirements and to develop educational resources for businesses to facilitate compliance with federal and state disability laws.
Under federal and state law, compliance with disability access laws is a serious and significant responsibility that applies to all California building owners and tenants with buildings open to the public. You may obtain information about your legal obligations and how to comply with disability access laws at the following agencies:
The Division of the State Architect at www.dgs.ca.gov/dsa/Home.aspx.
The Department of Rehabilitation at www.rehab.cahwnet.gov.
The California Commission on Disability Access at www.ccda.ca.gov.
The State mandated fee of $1 is included on all business license applications and renewals.
Business License Invoices
A LATE PENALTY OF 10% OF THE TAX AMOUNT MUST BE ADDED ON
THE DELINQUENT DATE AND THE FIRST OF EACH MONTH